close
INTERVIEWS

Bananarama: “The reworkings have somehow got more emotion and power than they had before”

Earlier this year, Bananarama announced they were back to their original, record-breaking line up for a tour this November in the UK. The original tour dates announced were sold out instantly with further dates added to extend the winter tour.

This tour will be the first time Sara Dallin, Keren Woodward and Siobhan Fahey have ever toured together. The 22 date tour will kick off in Belfast on 9th November before wrapping up in London on 9th December.

“We haven’t started rehearsing yet so it’s slightly scary!” said Keren when I met the trio in London.

“We’ve reworked all the old tracks and they sound brilliant,” adds Keren. “We’re so excited by what we’ve done with the tracks. All we need to do is throw on all the live musicians and they’re just going to sound genius, so we’re all thrilled.”



Since the news broke, my Facebook timeline was awash with eager fans clambering over themselves to bag tickets to a show. Some even bragged that they’d snapped up multiple tickets to more than one gig, much to the irritation of fans that weren’t so lucky. It’s fair to say that this likely to be the pop event of the year.

Sara and Keren have been performing as a duo for many years, but seeing them reunited with Siobhan has made us feel like we’re teenagers again which – in these modern times of Brexit, Trump and Isis – is a fleeting pleasure to savour.

Since their final performance as a trio on The Brits in 1988, Keren and Sara have continued as Bananarama, releasing records and touring to global audiences. Siobhan went on to have hit singles and albums around the world as part of Shakespears Sister before becoming a solo artist.

Listen to my interview with Bananarama below, and check out their tour dates.

Full tour dates:
Belfast The SSE Arena Thursday 9 November
Glasgow SEC Armadillo Saturday 11 November
Glasgow SEC Armadillo Sunday 12 November
Blackpool Opera House Monday 13 November
Newcastle City Hall Wednesday 15 November
York Barbican Thursday 16 November
Manchester O2 Apollo Friday 17 November
London Eventim Apollo Sunday 19 November
Bristol Colston Hall Wednesday 22 November
Birmingham Barclaycard Arena Thursday 23 November
Nottingham Royal Concert Hall Friday 24 November
Bournemouth International Centre Sunday 26 November
Cardiff St David’s Hall Monday 27 November
Plymouth Pavilions Tuesday 28 November
Brighton Centre Thursday 30 November



Tour dates continued…
Ipswich Regent Friday 1 December
Southend Cliffs Pavilion Saturday 2 December
Oxford New Theatre Monday 4 December
Sheffield City Hall Tuesday 5 December
Manchester 02 Apollo Wednesday 6 December
Brighton Centre Friday 8 December
London Eventim Apollo Saturday 9 December

Megarama


New From: £14.13 GBP In Stock

Tags : Bananarama
Phil Marriott

The author Phil Marriott

As well as holding the Head of Music position, Phil currently presents the Sunday mid-morning show on Gaydio – the world’s biggest LGBT dance radio station. As a DJ, he has supported Tiesto and played for clubbing brands Fierce Angel and SupermartXe. He is one half of a remix duo with DJ Rich B and also produces the PMKEpodcast with singer Katherine Ellis, the LDN Vegans YouTube channel with Polly Harvey, and produces and presents Boys On Film with Raj Rudolph from EQ Music Blog.

Leave a Response